We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Refried III

by Deep Fried Dub

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £3.33 GBP  or more




The third instalment of Deep Fried Dub's popular Refried series is an all Kiwi affair with Ben & Ben remixing five of their fellow New Zealanders in their imitable dubwise fashion.

First up is a sunny slice of Southern Hemisphere goodness as they follow the success of their last collaboration with Isaac Chambers and Dub Princess, the multi-million streaming remix of ‘Kryptology’, by refrying their 'Back to my Roots' track, adding their own special dubwise flavours to the easy skanking original.

They then add fire to the beats of “It’s the Future Knocking” by electron dub herders Pitch Black, rinsing out the downbeat original, taken from their “Filtered Senses” album, in an old school drum and bass style.

Next it’s International Observer’s turn: despite spending over 20 years at the coal face of dub, very few artists have remixed the Observer, and Deep Fried Dub make the most of the opportunity, stepping up “Woman Will Rule the World” into a pulsating, bass driven groove.

Their remix of SUBSET’s “Dub Cell” couldn’t be more different, being an almost discofied 8-bit 80’s throwback, complete with vocoded vocals and Faltermeyer-esque synths.

Finally they tackle one of the biggest reggae bands in New Zealand, The Black Seeds, taking their track “Everybody Knows”, featuring the sweet vocals of Daniel Weetman, for a deep dub infused house workout.


released April 3, 2020

Isaac Chambers ft Dub Princess - Back to My Roots (Deep Fried Dub's Refried Remix)
Original written by Isaac Chambers and Dub Princess
Guitars, Bass, Keys, Percussion & Programming by Isaac Chambers
Vocals by Dub Princess
Saxophone's by The Horns of Navarone
Trumpet by The Illusive Unknown Street Performer

Pitch Black - It's the Future Knocking (Deep Fried Dub Remix)
Original written by Michael Hodgson and Paddy Free

International Observer - Woman Will Rule the World (Deep Fried Dub Remix)
Original written by Tom Bailey

SUBSET - Dub Cell (Deep Fried Dub's 8 bit Remix)
Original written by Karl Muller

The Black Seeds - Everybody Knows (Deep Fried Dub's Refried Remix)
Original written by The Black Seeds
Vocals and Guitar by Barnaby Weir
Vocals and Percussion by Daniel Weetman
Bass Guitar by Francis Harawira
Drums by Jarney Murphy
Guitar by Ned Ngatae
Keyboards by Nigel Patterson
Saxophone by Matthew Benton
Trumpet and Flugelhorn by Barrett Hocking

Released by Dubmission Records
PO Box 14988, London, SW6 2WL, UK


all rights reserved



Dubmission London

Low key, sporadic label specialising in dubwise electronica.

contact / help

Contact Dubmission

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Refried III, you may also like: